Its a trend certain to continue in states that appreciate liberty of its citizens.

North Dakota newest state to pass law allowing concealed carry without a permit

Brandon Morse Mar 24, 2017 7:50 pm
GettyImages-502016288-1-1280x720
North Dakota is the latest state to pass “constitutional carry,” allowing residents of the state to carry a sidearm without a license. (Photo by George Frey/Getty Images)

According to CBS News, the state of North Dakota has recently passed a law that allows residents to carry a concealed firearm without a license.

The bill, signed into law on Thursday by Republican Gov. Doug Burgum, will allow residents 18 years or older to carry a sidearm with them so long as they have a valid I.D., and do not have a criminal background. Carriers must also notify authorities of their firearm in such instances as traffic stops.

“Gun ownership is both a right and a responsibility,” said Burgum in a statement about the new law. “That responsibility begins with individuals and families.”

The bill will take effect in August 1st, making North Dakota one of 12 states that allow what is being called “constitutional carry.” At present, however, being caught with a concealed weapon without a permit will result in 30 days of jail time, and a fine of $1,500.
The bill had the support of the National Rifle Association, who tweeted out it’s success upon passage.

This bill recognizes a law-abiding adult’s Right to Keep and Bear Arms for self-defense in the manner he or she chooses,” said the NRA in a statement. “Self-defense situations are difficult, if not impossible, to anticipate. Accordingly, a law-abiding adult’s right to defend himself or herself in such situations should not be conditioned by government-mandated time delays and taxes.”

Leave a Reply